The Pit Stop BBQ, LLC Logo
Special Events Catering Theme Catering
    Client Reviews

 


Home
Catering Menus
Catering
Theme Catering
Special Events
Fundraising
Cooking Classes
Testimonials
About Us
Contact Us

 

 

Client Testimonials

You can review what others are saying about us on Thumbtack.com, Facebook and Yelp. Just click on the links below to see the reviews!

Thumbtack.com Click on the "reviews" link next to the stars on the left hand side to read what our customers have to say.

Facebook Click on the "reviews" link under our banner picture to read what our customers have to say.

Yelp.com Scroll down the page to read the reviews.


I act as a personal chef from time to time. I did a private chef event from some ladies that flew in from Texas and Louisiana to hold a vacation reunion in a rented house in Santa Monica. This was what they said about the event from an email:

September 18, 2014

Pam: Thank you for a wonderful private chef catering experience. Planning this meal for a group of 8 ladies on vacation prior to arrival and not knowing the layout of the kitchen or what to expect in general was a bit of a challenge. You really made it super easy!!! Your carne asada, ceviche, guacamole, beans, salsa etc was an absolute hit!! We truly appreciated your attention to detail and professionalism!! We were so excited to enjoy the amazing gluten free chocolate cake you prepared for dessert with our coffee the next morning- it was divine!!!! Everything you prepared was delicious. And your efforts in meeting each of our requests was impressive! A plus!! P.S. The girls are already talking about making hard nachos with all the leftovers;)

Thanks again!!

Amy & Friends
from TX and LA


We catered a graduation party on May 25th. On May 27th we received a "Request for Quote!" from our contact form on our website. The request is for a party in September. This is what the Comment Section of the form read:

May 27, 2013

Other Comments: You just catered a party for our friends The Spotiswood's and everyone loved the food and service!!!!

D. Lowry
Canoga Park, CA

(It certainly makes us feel good when people contact us to cater their party after tasting our food and experiencing our service at someone else's party! To us, this is the highest form of flattery!)


We did a job on Edwards Air Force Base. When we got back to the office from completing the job, this was in our email in box:

January 23, 2013

Ms. Gram,

We'd like to thank you, again, for providing such great food and service for our function today.

Feed-back means so much to small businesses so I thought that I would share some of the comments from today:

The chicken was delicious and the brisket was so tender that it fell off the fork. No negative comments were received!

"I do have to say, it was the best FOOD we've ever had catered."

"Outstanding lunch, the food was great!! ... I enjoyed it to the last bite."

Thank you,

N.R. Palmer
Edwards AFB, CA 93524


We were asked by Rydell Cheverolet to vend at their 7th Annual Car Show. As this was a fundraiser for the Make-A-Wish Foundation, we told them we would donate all the proceeds of our sales to Make-A-Wish. We were fortunate enough to raise $1,000.00 for them. This was an email we received from one of the people who purchased our food at the event:

October 8, 2008

My e-mail was down yesterday, so I couldn't search for you....I thought, for your restaurant....the pulled pork you served at Rydell's car show Sunday has got to be the best I have EVER tasted...I couldn't wait to get back to your restaurant to have some more...and then NOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!! You only cater!!!!!

I guess I'll have to keep looking for events you cater then.....'cuz I got to get me some more of that 'que!!!!!!

F. William Parker
Lake Balboa, CA

We competed in Clovis, California in the Clovis Red Hot & Real BBQ Competition September 19th - 20th. We earned 3rd place in Pork Ribs, 6th place in Pork Butt and 8th place in Beef Brisket making us 4th place winners overall out of 41 teams. We gave our leftovers to a friend of ours who lives in Clovis. He took the leftovers to work and shared them with his co-workers. Here was the email we received from him:

September 22, 2008

I shared the leftovers from the competition with the office today. They all LOVE your cooking, below is what I sent them via email, and some of their returning comments!

"Thank you for all the wonderful comments regarding the B-B-Q samples.

"The meats you enjoyed were prepared by "The Pit Stop BBQ Team" out of Acton, CA owned by Pete and Pam. The meats were prepared for the Red Hot & Real BBQ Competition held in Clovis this weekend. The Brisket took 8th place, the Ribs 3rd place and the Pull Pork 6th place with 41 teams attending the competition. Overall rating was 4th in the competition."
Joe

Employee Xong "Song":
Thanks for bringing in the samples. They were very good.

Employee Elisa:
Thank you! Oh my gosh, it was fantastic!!!!!! Wow you guys did an overall wonderful job!!

Employee Janice:
Thank YOU for the yummy food!

Employee Gary:
I sampled all three---all DELICIOUS! Thank you.

Employee Bob:
That was some gooooood pork.
Thanks

Employee Minerva:
The food was delicious!!

 

Thanks again for your friendship. Both of you are wonderful people. See ya soon.
Joe

We catered a wedding rehearsal dinner in Pasadena on the 4th of July. Appetizers consisted of Smoked Nuts and Assorted Vegetables w/BBQ Ranch Dip. Meats for the dinner included Tri-Tip and Chicken. Their sides were Vegetarian Baked Beans, Mac & Cheese, Coleslaw, Corn on the Cob and Sliced Watermelon. Here is a response to that dinner:

July 8, 2008

Was at your event in Pasadena last weekend. One of the guests told us some of your recipes are online. Can you share where the mac and cheese recipe can be found? It was a fabulous event with outrageous tasting food!!! Many tks!

Carole from CT

We catered an employee appreciation dinner for AKA Talent Agency. The menu consisted of Smoked Nuts, Applewood Smoked Cheese served with crackers, Assorted Vegetables with our homemade BBQ Ranch Dip, Tri-Tip Bites, and Tempura Shrimp with three varieties of dipping sauce as appetizers. For the main course, they feasted on corn bread muffins, Spring Mix with Mangos and Almonds with a Mango Vinegarette, Potato Salad, Baked Beans, Corn on the Cob, Chicken, Tri-Tip and Baby Back Ribs. This was the response to that dinner:

June 5, 2008

Hi Pam, I just wanted to thank you so much for Sunday!!!!! It was amazing, you guys are wonderful, everybody loved your food! You really helped to make our party special.

Thanks again............ see you soon,

Pamela

The UCLA Alumni Staff has hired us for four events they have had. They called on Tuesday to book us for a drop-off catered lunch on Wednesday. The lunch consisted of Huli Huli Chicken, Teriyaki Tri-Tip, Oriental Noodle Salad in a Peanut Cilantro Sauce, Asian Grilled Vegetables, Fresh Fruit and Coconut Macaroons. Here is a comment from one of the attendees:

September 25, 2007

The food was fantastic. We are continually impressed how electic your menu is without sacrificing taste in the slightest. I pretty much hung out with the leftovers in the kitchen the rest of the day. Wouldn't have rather spent it any other way.

Thanks again!

Jason

The Moorpark Chamber of Commerce held it first annual BBQ Cookoff and Family Fall Festival. They sent us an invitation to participate in the BBQ Competition. Also included on the form, were openings for food vendors. Pete and I decided that we wanted to do both the competition and vend BBQ at the festival. Below is the response from one of the Chamber Member's on our participation.

September 12, 2007

Hi Pam,

It was a pleasure meeting you and the BBQ team. My son loved your pulled pork sandwich. Said it tasted great. THANK YOU so much for the food at the end of the day. We took the ribs, bean & potato salad home and had it for two days. VERY good!!!! That was the best potato salad I've ever had. VERY TASTY!!!

Thank you again for participating in our event and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Good luck at all of your future competitions.

Make it a GREAT day!!

Sharon Conte
Moorpark Chamber of Commerce

WAY TOO COOL! Look what came in the mail today regarding our vending at the Moorpark BBQ Contest and Family Fall Festival!!!! Images were taken from our website and this custom card was sent to us. Click on each image to open a new window and see the images full size.

September 12, 2007

Moorpark BBQ Moorpark BBQ in California

Sentiment reads as follows:
Dear Pete and Pam,

My wife, son and I had lunch from your booth at the Moorpark Family Fall Festival last Saturday. The food and the service were great! Thank you for making our day. By the way, you have a great website!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Thomas Herdering
SendOutCards
805-526-6924

Dede contacted me the week before Father's Day and her son's graduation. She wanted a drop-off menu with a tropical theme, but did not know what to have. We worked with her to come up with a menu and to make her event stress-free. The menu consisted of Salads: Asian Mandarin Orange and Almond Salad with Wonton Strips and Rice Noodles and a BBQ Ranch Green Salad with Croutons; Entrees: Huli Huli Chicken, Teryaki Tri-Tip, Asian Rice Salad with Peas and Tarragon, and Hawaiian Dinner Rolls.

June 25, 2007

Pam,

I could not have done my tiki/tropical BBQ for my son's graduation without you. You not only set up the table for me but everything I needed was supplied.

Best of all, compliments to you and your business as everyone, including the hungry high schoolers, were raving about the tasty & delicious food.

You have been so accommodating in the prior week, helping me and guiding me. I, have and, will highly recommend you to others--not only for your great food, but for your wonderful service and smile.

God Bless to you and your household,

Dede Vena
La Crescenta, California

UCLA Student Alumni contacted us to feed the celebrity alumni guest speakers of their UCLA Entertainment Night Roundtable Discussions. The menu consisted of Appetizers: Stuffed Mushrooms and Dill Glazed Salmon Cups; Salad: Spinach Almond Salad w/Mango vinaigrette; Entrees: Spiced Fried Chicken w/Honey Pecan Glaze, Artichoke Lasagna, and Dinner Rolls; and Desserts: Fresh Fruit Platter and Coconut Rum Cake.

May 4, 2007

Dear Pam,

Thank you so much for all of your help on Entertainment Networking Night! We truly appreciated it, and I know that all of our guests truly loved the meal! We had a record number of students attending the main event in Ackerman Grand Ballroom, and you definitely contributed to our success! Thanks again! It was great working with you!

Sincerely,

Sapna Lohiya
UCLA Student Alumni Association

This client contacted us while we were catering a 50th Wedding Anniversary on Saturday, March 3rd. I returned her call on Sunday. After talking to us and reviewing our website, she called us back on Monday and hired us to cater her boyfriend's 50th Birthday party on March 10th. The party was at his home in Canyon Lake Estates near Lake Elsinore, and had around 45 people in attendance. The guests ranged in ages from small children on up. The menu consisted of Beef Brisket, Baby Back Ribs, Chicken, Baked Beans, Potato Salad, Corn on the Cob and Dinner Rolls. Here's what some of the guests said:

March 10, 2007

"This is the best catered food I've ever had. Not only was the food outstanding, but you are very professional. Please give me some of your business cards so that I can recommend you to some of my clients."

Eugenen Runnalls, D.J.
A-1 Sold Sounds D.J. & K.J. Service

"I'm from Texas and we know good BBQ, but I've got to say, this is the best BBQ I've ever had."

John
El Paso, TX

We received a phone call the next day from the hostess of the party.

March 11, 2007

"I just called to Thank You for your wonderful service. The food was outstanding and everyone raved about how much they enjoyed it. You were very professional and the guests were impressed on how nice you looked and how well you served the food.

"The brothers came by this morning and had coffee before catching their flights back to Texas. They all commented on how they've had BBQ in Texas, but your's was the best they've ever had.

"Thank you for making the party a huge success on such short notice!"

Carol Carnahan
Hostess

This was one of the responses to an event we catered on May 13th for 60 people. The party had a Hawaiian Theme. Food included: Appetizers — Hawaiian Honey Riblets, Hawaiian BBQ Glazed Shrimp Skewers, Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce, Sushi Medley; Meats — Dill Glazed Salmon, Huli Huli Chicken, Teriyaki Tri-tip: Sides — Marinated Hibachi Grilled Vegetables, Cold Oriental Noodles in Peanut/Cilantro Sauce, and Asian Chicken Salad.

May 31, 2005

Dear Pam & Pete,

Thank you form making my graduation even more special for me! The food was beyond incredible. Everyone told me so, as well! Thank you!

Love,
Jill Queza

This event was a fundraiser for a 501(3)c Corporation we catered on March 6th for 300 people. The party had a Tropical Theme. Food included: Appetizers — Hawaiian Honey Riblets, Hawaiian BBQ Glazed Shrimp Skewers, Peking Chicken Nuggets; Meats — Dill Glazed Salmon, Jamaican Jerk Chicken Skewers, Sweet Coconut Pork Wrap with Accouterments (mango salsa, napa cabbage, spicy mustard); Sides — Marinated Hibachi Grilled Vegetables, Cold Oriental Noodles in Peanut/Cilantro Sauce, Tropical Rice Salad, Mango Black Bean Salsa over Rice, and Exotic Curry Chicken Salad with Pineapple Chunks & Cashews; Dessert — Frozen Coconut Carmel Pie, Individual Key Lime Cheesecakes, and Tropical Fruit Salad.

May 6, 2005

Dear Pam,

I just want to let you know how fabulous everything was for the Topanga Elementary Silent Auction on March 5th. The food was incredibly outstanding. Your attention to detail, your wonderful staff and your generosity was most appreciated. I am still receiving raves on the menu, and many more are saying it was a first class event.

Very Sincerely,
Marilyn Samorski
Event Chairperson


HomeCateringTheme CateringSpecial EventsCooking ClassesCatering Menus
FundraisingClient ReviewsAbout UsContact UsPolicies


The Pit Stop BBQ, LLC
661.269.2866  •   818.775.0278  •  818.800.2623
Email: Email Us

No part of this publication may be reproduced in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, without the prior written permission of the publisher.

© 2005-2015 The Pit Stop BBQ, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

  After the Job!

Here we are with the guest of honor at one of our events.

 

Party Goers!

Making sure all the guests are Having Fun! is something we cater to at each event.

 

Smokin' In The Pits!